Calendar join now Job Bank

Celebrating 50 Years!

March 03, 2020 01:02 AM

Friday night kicked off a year-long 50th-anniversary celebration for the Frisco Chamber of Commerce. Joe Trahan, WFAA reporter and anchor and also a Frisco resident, was the emcee for the Frisco Number Ones Gala. Trahan began the evening saying, “Tonight, we celebrate not only what we have accomplished over the past 50 years but also look ahead to the next 50 years. This is an exciting time for all of us!”

John Gonzales from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce presented the staff a plaque recognizing the Frisco Chamber accomplishment of earning a 5-Star Accreditation, placing the chamber in the top 1.5% of all chambers in the United States.

During the celebration, businesses that had been Frisco Chamber members for over 20 years were recognized. In addition, Sam Roach, who was in attendance, was mentioned as being the longest-tenured Frisco Chamber member – over 35 years!

Also in attendance and recognized were former Frisco Chamber Presidents Karen King and Audie Adkins. Former President John Land was unable to attend the event.

Outgoing Board members were also recognized – Mary Jo Dean, Texas Health Hospital Plano; Lawrence Howorth, HOWORTH International, LLC; Josh Meek, Meek Industries; Paul O. Williams, Bison Financial Group; and Keith Wright.

One surprise of the evening was the video reveal of the Frisco Chamber’s new logo and tagline “Connect. Grow. Lead. Give Back.”

Over 650 business and community leaders gathered at the Embassy Suites Frisco Conference Center to celebrate not only the accomplishments over the last 50 years but also to celebrate this year’s Citizen and Business award winners.

The evening concluded with a champagne toast.

The winners of the 2019 Citizen and Business Awards (listed alphabetically within each category):

Citizen of the Year – Terri Paterson-McElhaney

Silver Citizen of the Year – Coy Miller

Spirit of Frisco – Anne McCausland

Ambassador of the Year – Dan Anderson-Little

Ambassador Team of the Year – Dapper Dans

Developer of the Year – Texas Health Hospital Frisco/UT Southwestern Medical Center

Employer of the Year – CoServ

Entrepreneur of the Year – Matt Sharp, KidStrong

NonProfit of the Year – Frisco Education Foundation

Volunteer of the Year – Terri Paterson-McElhaney, Legacy ER & Urgent Care

Young Professional of the Year – Kristin Grammar, TIG Commercial Real Estate

Small Business of the Year – COMHOME Technology Solutions

Medium Business of the Year – Code Authority

Large Business of the Year – Medical City Frisco

Chairman’s Award – Paul O. Williams, Bison Financial Group

President’s Awards – Peak Roofing & Construction and Town & Country Roofing