Government Affairs: Upcoming Elections

vote graphic

Upcoming Elections

The mission of the Frisco Chamber of Commerce’s Government Affairs division is to inform, educate, engage, and advocate for the business community regarding relevant public policy.

The Frisco Chamber of Commerce does not endorse candidates; however, we seek to educate our citizens and business community to allow you to make informed decisions at the polls.

City Elections

election dates

Special Election
City Councilman Dan Stricklin has announced that he is running for Denton County Commissioner. Due to this announcement, he has resigned from his seat on council, creating a vacancy. On December 7, 2021, the City council set January 29, 2022, as the day for a special election to fill this seat. Early voting in this election will begin on January 12, 2022. One other important date to keep in mind is candidate filing. The last day for candidates to file for this election is 5:00 PM on December 20, 2021.

Save the Date: The Frisco Chamber will host a candidate forum on the evening of January 11, 2022, at Grace Church in Frisco Square. Timing will be released after candidate filing closes.


texas state primary dates

Moving up to the state and federal election levels, party primary elections are on the horizon. Early voting for the Primaries will start on February 14, 2022, and run through February 25, 2022. Election day is March 1, 2022.

Save the Date: The Frisco Chamber will host a Candidate Forum on February 10, 2022, at Grace Church in Frisco for select primary races. More details to come after the first of the year.

Due to the state’s redistricting process, the elected officials who represent the City of Frisco will change moving into the 2022 elections. With that in mind, we will now be following different candidates in more races. Before redistricting, there were two State Representatives and two State Senators. That has changed to four and one respectively. The following are the updated districts, and candidates who have filed in those districts, that touch the city of Frisco.

Texas State House Candidates:

Republican Candidates: Richard Hayes, Matthew Poole
Democrat Candidates: None

Republican Candidates: Frederick Fraizer, Paul Chabot, Jim Herblin
Democrat Candidates: None

Republican Candidates: Matt Shaheen(i), Daniel Chandler
Democrat Candidates: Jesse Ringness

Incumbent Representative Jared Patterson was the only person to file for this seat. He has effectively won reelection.
Texas State Senate

Incumbent Senator Drew Springer also was the only person to file for this election, effectively winning his reelection.

More Election Information

We will continue to keep you informed regarding upcoming elections and candidate forums. Visit our Voter Information page. 

We want to make sure that Frisco and the surrounding communities remain a great place to do business! If you are interested in learning more about the Frisco Chamber of Commerce’s advocacy efforts, please visit our Government Affairs page.

Collin County Election Information

For Collin County voting information, click here. For early voting and on election day, Collin County residents can vote at any polling location within in Collin County.

Denton County Election Information

For Denton County voting information, click here. For early voting, Denton County residents can vote at any polling location within Denton County. On election day, Denton County voters must vote in their precinct.

Share This Post

Get our communications

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

More to explore